"Great day the team are so welcoming and the expert guide was very knowledgeable we spotted two Humpback whales on this trip thank you 🙏"

Pier 69 · Downtown Seattle · 3 to 5 Hours
Clipper Vacations' cruise boards at Pier 69 on the Seattle waterfront and spends 3 to 5 hours on the Salish Sea with a naturalist. The tours billed as 'near Seattle' leave from Anacortes, about 90 minutes north by car.
The Experience
Highlights and inclusions from the operator's own listing, its sighting figure included. Food, drink and binocular rental cost extra on board.
Not Included: Food and drink (available onboard), Binoculars (available to rent)
Four steps, from choosing where to board to reading what each listing says about sightings and cancellations.
Only two tours leave from Seattle itself, both Clipper Vacations cruises from Pier 69 on the downtown waterfront. Three leave Anacortes, about 90 minutes north by car with no ferry needed, and two leave Orcas Island, which adds a Washington State Ferry crossing from Anacortes and a ferry reservation. A title that says 'near Seattle' means Anacortes.
Outer Island Excursions' two standard tours start at $119 and its two orca-focused 'Guaranteed' tours at $199. Blue Kingdom's open zodiac is $149 and both Clipper cruises are $150, per person on the booking platform in October 2026. Depending on the tour, food, binocular rental, gratuities or the Orcas Island ferry fare come on top.
Most trips last 3 to 5 hours with a naturalist or guide on board; Clipper says the length of its cruise depends on where the whales are. The orcas found most often now are Bigg's killer whales, seen almost year-round. The endangered Southern Residents are fewer and far less predictable, and since January 1, 2025 Washington law keeps nearly all vessels 1,000 yards from them.
Clipper's two Seattle tours refund cancellations up to 24 hours ahead; the five Anacortes and Orcas Island tours need 2 days. Sighting promises differ by listing: Clipper's cruise offers 'a free trip if whale sightings do not occur', the $199 Orcas Island tour says guests who see no orcas 'can come back again for free', and the others state no such terms.
Photo Gallery
Photographs from Clipper Vacations' own listing for its Wildlife and Whale Watching Cruise from Pier 69.






Book Your Experience
Select your preferred date and time. Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure.
One tour from each starting point. Clipper Vacations' cruise boards in downtown Seattle and has the most reviews of the seven tours listed here. Outer Island Excursions' Anacortes tour is $119 and the only one with a stated season; its Orcas Island speedboat is also $119, but a ferry comes first.
| Feature | OUR PICK Pier 69 Cruise, Seattle | Anacortes Boat Tour | Orcas Island Speedboat |
|---|---|---|---|
| What You Pay | From $150 per person; food, drink and binocular rental extra | From $119 per person; gratuities not included | From $119 per person, plus the ferry to Orcas Island |
| Where You Board | Pier 69, downtown Seattle: exchange your voucher at the ticket counter 45 minutes before departure | Outer Island Excursions' office past the Skyline Marine Center in Anacortes | A dock on Orcas Island: check in at the little building on the dock 30 minutes before departure |
| Getting There from Seattle | No drive: the pier is on the downtown waterfront | About 90 minutes north by car (78 to 80 miles); no ferry needed | The drive to Anacortes, then a Washington State Ferry; the listing says a ferry reservation is required |
| Time on the Water | 3 to 5 hours, depending on where the whales are | 3 to 4 hours | Not stated in the listing |
| The Boat | Naturalist on board; locally sourced food and drink for sale | High-speed vessel with a professional guide | Speedboat with indoor and outdoor viewing platforms and bathrooms; naturalist guide |
| Season | Not stated in the listing | March to November, by the operator's own listing | Not stated in the listing |
| If You See No Whales | “You'll be offered a free trip if whale sightings do not occur” | No free-return terms stated; the operator says it spots whales on over 95% of its trips | No free-return terms stated; the listing claims an over 98% chance of seeing whales |
| Cancellation | Free up to 24 hours before departure | Free up to 2 days before departure | Free up to 2 days before departure |
| Stated Limits | None stated in the listing | Not suitable for wheelchair users; no pets | None stated in the listing |
| Reviews | 4.5 / 5 from 684 reviews | 4.8 / 5 from 624 reviews | 4.8 / 5 from 70 reviews |
| Best For | Visitors without a car, or with only part of a day | Drivers who want the $119 price and a stated season | Visitors already staying on Orcas Island or in the San Juans |
| Check Availability | See the Anacortes Tour | See the Orcas Island Tour |
Six More Tours, Three Starting Points
One more from Pier 69, three from Anacortes, about 90 minutes north by car, and two from Orcas Island, a state ferry ride beyond that. Prices, ratings and review counts are the booking platform's, checked in October 2026, when the two $199 orca tours showed no dates before May 2027.
INDIGENOUS GUIDES, TEA TASTINGA cruise from Pier 69 in downtown Seattle led by Indigenous guides, with a traditional tea tasting, covering Coast Salish whaling culture, treaty rights and Tribal fishing in Elliott Bay.
SAILS MARCH TO NOVEMBEROuter Island Excursions' high-speed boat leaves Anacortes, about 90 minutes north of Seattle by car with no ferry, to search the San Juan Islands for orca, humpback, minke and gray whales.
OPEN ZODIAC, MAX 17Blue Kingdom Whale and Wildlife Tours takes at most 17 passengers from Anacortes, about 90 minutes north of Seattle, on an open-air zodiac-style boat, with cruiser suits supplied; ages 6 and up.
ORCA-FOCUSED, NO FERRYOuter Island Excursions' orca-focused trip from Anacortes, about 90 minutes north of Seattle, looks for Bigg's killer whales; despite its title, the listing states no guarantee terms.
INDOOR AND OUTDOOR VIEWINGOuter Island Excursions' speedboat leaves Orcas Island, reached from Seattle by a 90-minute drive to Anacortes and a state ferry (fare extra), to search for orca, humpback, minke and gray whales.
FREE RETURN IF NO ORCASOuter Island Excursions' orca-focused trip leaves Orcas Island, a 90-minute drive and a state ferry from Seattle, for ages 12 and up; the listing says guests who see no orcas can come back again for free.
An Independent Guide to Whale Watching from Seattle
Which tours board in downtown Seattle and which leave Anacortes or Orcas Island, the orcas you are likely to see now, the season, what 'guaranteed' means and what each tour costs.
Only two of the seven whale watching tours listed here leave from Seattle itself, and both are Clipper Vacations cruises from Pier 69 on the downtown waterfront. Three more carry “near Seattle” in their titles, but all three leave from Anacortes, about 90 minutes north by car. The last two leave from Orcas Island, which you reach from Anacortes by Washington State Ferry, so the drive is only the first leg.
The tour this site recommends is Clipper Vacations’ Wildlife and Whale Watching Cruise: 3 to 5 hours on the Salish Sea from Pier 69 with a naturalist on board, rated 4.5 from 684 reviews and from about $150 on the booking platform when we checked. There is no drive and no ferry before it, and its listing makes a promise for a day without whales: “You’ll be offered a free trip if whale sightings do not occur.”
See dates for the Pier 69 cruise →
At Pier 69 the listing asks you to arrive 45 minutes early and exchange your voucher at Clipper’s ticket counter. Clipper’s second downtown tour, the Indigenous-Led Whale Watching Tour with Tea Tasting, uses the same check-in. It is new on the booking platform, with 3 reviews when we checked. Its listing says it is led by Indigenous guides and covers Coast Salish whaling culture, treaty rights and Tribal fishing in Elliott Bay, with a traditional tea tasting. It states no duration, no season and no sighting promise.
Anacortes, roughly 78 to 80 miles up the highway with no ferry, holds most of the choice: Outer Island Excursions’ $119 standard tour and its orca-focused tour, and Blue Kingdom Whale and Wildlife Tours’ open-air zodiac for at most 17 passengers. That standard tour also has the only stated season in the line-up, “from March to November”.
Orcas Island adds a step. Its two tours, both Outer Island Excursions, meet at a dock reached only by Washington State Ferry from Anacortes, and both listings say you need a ferry reservation. From Seattle, that is half a day of driving, ferry check-in and crossing before the boat leaves. The operator says its Anacortes trips mirror its island ones, so from Seattle the mainland version means the same operator with much less travel. Seattle or Anacortes sets the three starting points side by side.
The orcas that made Seattle famous are the Southern Residents, the J, K and L pods, and they are now the less likely sighting. OPB and KUOW reported in August 2026 that Bigg’s killer whales, once called transients, “have been spotted every day so far this year”. In July 2026, historically a peak month for them, no Southern Residents were recorded in the inland waters. Bigg’s orcas eat seals and sea lions, here all year; the Southern Residents chase salmon, which come in bursts.
The Southern Residents are endangered and few: 74 at the Center for Whale Research’s last final count in July 2025, with a provisional 2026 count of 76, published in late July, still awaiting final confirmation. Since January 1, 2025, Washington law keeps nearly all vessels 1,000 yards from them, against the federal 200 yards for any killer whale in the state’s inland waters. The two orca-focused tours here are built around Bigg’s whales. Can you see orcas in Seattle? goes further.
You can also look from shore for free: Bigg’s orcas sometimes hunt harbor seals off West Seattle, and Alki Beach is the best-known spot. Sightings there come and go within the hour, so watchers follow Orca Network’s alerts. It is a long shot next to a guided search by boat.
Bigg’s orcas are close to a year-round bet. Humpbacks, recovering after whaling nearly wiped them out here, can turn up in almost any month; a regional operator calls them commonly sighted from June to August and still feeding through October. Gray whales feed around Whidbey and Camano islands, well north of Seattle, from about March to May, and minke whales are seen most in summer.
The listings say little about winter. Outer Island Excursions’ standard Anacortes tour states March to November, which leaves December to February out. Clipper’s two downtown tours state no season in their listings, though Clipper’s own whale-watching site lists sailings from 1 May to 15 November. When we checked on October 5, 2026, five of the seven had open dates within a week, while both $199 orca tours showed nothing before May 1, 2027. From December through March, check the live calendar first. The best time for whale watching in Seattle goes species by species.
The word means something different on each listing. Clipper’s downtown cruise: “You’ll be offered a free trip if whale sightings do not occur,” which covers any whale. Outer Island Excursions’ $199 Orcas Island tour is the only one with an orca promise: “if you don’t see Orcas on your trip you can come back again for free!” Its $199 Anacortes counterpart has “Guaranteed” in its title, but its own listing states no guarantee terms, only a “98 percent success rate of spotting whales”. The two $119 tours quote success rates of over 95% and over 98% and state no free-return terms; each figure is the operator’s own and unaudited. What “guaranteed” means puts the wording side by side.
With neither $199 tour showing a date before May 2027 when we checked, the downtown cruise’s free-trip offer was the only no-whale policy here with autumn dates open.
Check dates for the Pier 69 cruise →
Prices run from $119 to $199 per person on the booking platform in October 2026, with both Clipper cruises at $150. Clipper sells food and drink on board and rents binoculars; Blue Kingdom invites you to bring your own snacks and drinks; three Outer Island Excursions listings exclude gratuities; and the Orcas Island ferry is extra. A full refund needs 24 hours’ notice with Clipper and 2 days with the other two operators. None of the seven says what happens if the operator cancels for weather. How much is whale watching in Seattle? works through the ladder.
Book by where you can start from:
Boards at Pier 69 for 3 to 5 hours, with a free trip offered if whale sightings do not occur.
Check dates →A 90-minute drive north, then 3 to 4 hours on a high-speed boat, March to November.
See this tour →An open-air zodiac for at most 17 passengers, cruiser suits supplied; ages 6 and up.
See this tour →Prices, ratings and review counts from our October 2026 data check; operators use seasonal pricing, so treat them as the shape of the market, not a quote.
Dress in layers under a windproof, waterproof shell, with long trousers and closed shoes. Blue Kingdom supplies cruiser suits, hats and gloves; the other listings mention no outerwear. None of the seven mentions seasickness either, and a larger, steadier boat such as Clipper’s is generally easier on a queasy stomach than a small fast one. Age limits are per listing: 6 and up on Blue Kingdom’s zodiac, which is not appropriate during pregnancy or with back or neck injuries, and no children under 12 on the $199 Orcas Island tour. The rest state no minimum, a gap rather than a promise. Is Seattle whale watching worth it? covers the rest, including Vancouver and Victoria.
Guest Reviews
"Great day the team are so welcoming and the expert guide was very knowledgeable we spotted two Humpback whales on this trip thank you 🙏"

"Boat and staff were excellent and very comfortable. Great day to be on the water."
"Great tour. Saw whales and sea lions. The guide is knowledgeable. I leaned a lot from this cruise."
"Definitely saw whales and more. Guide was very friendly and informative. My kiddos learned a lot and were engaged because of the presentations and information she was giving about what we saw. Boat was clean, comfortable, and I did not get motion sick when I normally do."
"We got to see a lot of orcas. I decided to go back to my seat ( which was extremely comfortable) and a mother and her calf swam right by my seat. Excellent video opportunity since there was a crowd on the deck."
"We had such a great time on the FRC Clipper! The boat was clean and spacious, as were the bathrooms. There is a great cafe on board and all of the seats offer great views. We saw 8 orcas on our trip, amongst some other animals. It was the coolest time!"

"We went as a group of 7. The trip was wonderful and two pods of Orcas were found along with sea lions, seals and birds. The ship was clean and well kept and safety was a priority, both for the passengers and the whales. The snack bar had a variety of food and drinks. We will use this service again."
"The captain found an Orca pod pretty quickly. The staff and crew were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The boat was very comfortable and clean. All around an amazing experience."

Read all 684 verified reviews
See All ReviewsClipper Vacations' cruise boards on the downtown Seattle waterfront and spends 3 to 5 hours on the Salish Sea with a naturalist guide. Rated 4.5 from 684 reviews, with free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead and, in the listing's words, “You'll be offered a free trip if whale sightings do not occur.” Starting from $150 per person.
Check Availability & BookCan't Make These Dates?
More tours nearby from the booking platform. Check each one's cancellation terms before you book.
What people ask before booking a whale watching tour from Seattle, answered in the first sentence. Prices are the booking platform's, checked in October 2026.
It depends on the whale: Bigg's orcas are close to year-round, humpbacks are at their best from June to October, and gray whales come in spring. OPB and KUOW reported in August 2026 that Bigg's killer whales, the orcas most tours find now, had been spotted every day that year. Humpbacks can turn up in almost any month, and a regional operator calls them commonly sighted from June to August and still feeding through September and October. A small group of gray whales feeds around Whidbey and Camano islands, north of Seattle, from about March to May. Only one listing here states a season: Outer Island Excursions' standard Anacortes tour, March to November. The best time for whale watching in Seattle
For most visitors without a car, Clipper Vacations' Wildlife and Whale Watching Cruise, because it boards in downtown Seattle and carries the most reviews of the seven tours listed here. It leaves Pier 69 and runs 3 to 5 hours with a naturalist, rated 4.5 from 684 reviews and from $150. If you will drive about 90 minutes north to Anacortes, Outer Island Excursions' standard tour costs $119 and is rated 4.8 from 624 reviews, and Blue Kingdom Whale and Wildlife Tours' open-air zodiac takes at most 17 passengers. Where you can start from settles most of the choice. Compare the tours side by side
For most visitors, yes, if you know where your boat leaves from and accept that no sighting is certain. The seven tours listed here rate 4.5 to 5.0 on the booking platform, though the 5.0 rests on 4 reviews, and reviewers describe orcas, humpbacks, sea lions and eagles. The costs are travel time if you book outside Seattle, cold on the smaller, faster boats, and listings that promise different things for a day without whales. Alki Beach in West Seattle is free; Lime Kiln Point State Park on San Juan Island needs a ferry and a Washington Discover Pass to park. A sighting from either is luck rather than a guided search. Is Seattle whale watching worth it?
From $119 to $199 per person on the booking platform when we checked in October 2026. Outer Island Excursions' two standard tours, from Anacortes and from Orcas Island, start at $119; Blue Kingdom Whale and Wildlife Tours' zodiac at $149; Clipper Vacations' two downtown cruises at $150; and the two orca-focused 'Guaranteed' tours at $199. Then add what each leaves out: food, drink and binocular rental on Clipper's main cruise, gratuities on three of the four Outer Island Excursions listings, and the Washington State Ferry fare for the two Orcas Island tours. How much is whale watching in Seattle?
Yes, and most likely a Bigg's killer whale rather than one of the famous Southern Residents. Bigg's orcas hunt seals and sea lions, which are around all year, and OPB and KUOW reported in August 2026 that they had been spotted every day that year. In July 2026, historically a peak month for the Southern Residents, none were recorded in the inland waters. Federal rules keep boats at least 200 yards from any killer whale in Washington's inland waters, and since January 1, 2025, state law keeps nearly all vessels 1,000 yards from the Southern Residents. Can you see orcas in Seattle?
Possibly, though any single day is luck: Bigg's orcas were seen every day of 2026 up to August, by one scientist's account. By boat, the Pier 69 cruise is the one that leaves from the city, and five of the seven tours listed here had open dates in October 2026 when we checked. From shore, Bigg's orcas come into Elliott Bay to hunt harbor seals along West Seattle several times a year, and Alki Beach is the best-known place to watch. The window after a reported sighting is often under an hour, so Orca Network's public alerts are the practical way to know when to go. What each month brings
About 74 to 76 Southern Resident killer whales, a small and still fragile population. The Center for Whale Research's last final census, in July 2025, counted 74: 27 in J pod, 14 in K pod and 33 in L pod. A provisional 2026 count of 76 was published in late July 2026, pending one final encounter, and one of the year's three new calves is listed by Orca Network as presumed dead. The population peaked at 96 to 98 in the mid-1990s, and the official recovery target is 86 by 2030. Bigg's killer whales are a separate population and are not part of that count. Can you see orcas in Seattle?
Neither is better for everyone; they are different trips in different countries. From Seattle you can board at Pier 69 downtown or drive about 90 minutes north to Anacortes, with no border to cross. Vancouver and Victoria are in Canada, with their own operators, seasons and vessel rules, and none of the seven tours listed here leaves from either city. If you are based in Seattle, the boats here save you a border crossing; if your trip is built around British Columbia, compare the tours there on their own terms. Seattle, Vancouver or Victoria
None of the seven listings says one is better, and no source behind this site found a time-of-day pattern for these whales. What changes a trip is where the whales are: Clipper says its cruise runs 3 to 5 hours depending on that. From Seattle, the clock matters more for travel. Anacortes is about 90 minutes away by car, and an Orcas Island tour needs the drive, a ferry reservation and early check-in first, so a later departure is easier to reach the same day. Blue Kingdom's departure times vary by date, so check its calendar. Seattle or Anacortes?
None of the seven listings addresses motion sickness, so plan for it if you are prone to it. The boats differ. Clipper's wildlife cruise sells food and drink on board; the Anacortes and Orcas Island tours use high-speed boats, and Blue Kingdom's is an open-air zodiac that its listing says is not appropriate during pregnancy or for people with back or neck injuries. A larger, more stable boat is generally easier on a queasy stomach than a small fast one, and the usual advice from whale-watching operators is to prepare before you board, for example with motion-sickness medication. Is Seattle whale watching worth it?
Two of the seven listed here do, both run by Clipper Vacations from Pier 69 on the downtown waterfront. Arrive 45 minutes before departure to exchange your voucher at the ticket counter. The three tours with 'near Seattle' in their titles leave from Anacortes, about 90 minutes north by car with no ferry needed. The other two leave from Orcas Island, which you reach by Washington State Ferry from Anacortes with a ferry reservation, and one of those listings says the ferry ticket is not included. Seattle or Anacortes?
It depends on the listing, so read its own words. Clipper's downtown cruise says: “You'll be offered a free trip if whale sightings do not occur,” which covers any whale. Outer Island Excursions' $199 Orcas Island tour says: “if you don't see Orcas on your trip you can come back again for free!” Its $199 Anacortes tour has 'Guaranteed' in its title, but its own listing states no guarantee terms. The two $119 tours give the operator's own success rates, over 95% and over 98%, and state no free-return terms. Both $199 tours showed no bookable date before May 1, 2027 when we checked. What 'guaranteed' whale watching means
Most run 3 to 5 hours, and the usual advice is layers under a windproof, waterproof shell, with long trousers and closed shoes. Clipper's main cruise and Outer Island Excursions' two orca-focused tours give 3 to 5 hours, its standard Anacortes tour 3 to 4, and Blue Kingdom 3 to 4, with about 3.5 hours on the water by its itinerary; the Orcas Island speedboat and the Indigenous-led cruise state no length. Blue Kingdom supplies cruiser suits, hats, gloves and binoculars and sells no food, so bring snacks; Clipper sells food and drink on board and rents binoculars. Check in 45 minutes early at Pier 69, 30 minutes early on the Orcas Island dock, and 30 minutes early with Blue Kingdom, where arriving 15 minutes or less before departure counts as a no-show. Compare the tours
Age limits vary by tour, and cancellation windows by operator. Blue Kingdom's zodiac takes ages 6 and up and is not appropriate during pregnancy or for people with back or neck injuries. Outer Island Excursions' $199 Orcas Island tour takes no children under 12, 'as it can be a long and sometimes cold trip', and its standard Anacortes tour is not suitable for wheelchair users. The other listings state no minimum age, which is a gap rather than a promise. Clipper Vacations refunds in full up to 24 hours before departure; Outer Island Excursions and Blue Kingdom up to 2 days before. None of the seven says what happens if the operator cancels for weather. See each tour's own limits
Still have questions? Email us at info@seattlewhalewatchingtour.com